Okategoriserade

Goodbye Chaparone and Bayamo

So before all this attacking and drama happened I was very lucky to take over Grand Prix Star horse Bayamo!


He is a Balou du Rouet, that was successfully ridden and produced up to Grand Prix level by Trevor Coyle, then Pius Schwizer took over Bayamo, but as luck would have it, the partnership was not top between them, and Bayamo came to me!
You can imagine both me and Francois was proud and excited!


Bayamo was very special, and not easy at all. 

He is top careful and sees everything that happens inside and outside the course, he really needs a rider who can give over 70% good strides and be in balance all the time, and even then it is not sure it will work, I mean, Pius gives 100% good strides, and those two did not like each other.


As I do with all my horses I got to know him on low jumps, and a lot of riding in the forest! At first it felt like my life was at stake, cause if he though he say a blade on a tree move he would jump up, make a 180 and run the other way!


But slowly slowly we became a couple! And he did a lot of good things with me!

Me, Bayamo and John Whitaker taking tactics before going in the ring, Francois hurrying in the back ground to not miss to see my round 😍


 This picture 😂 me looking at the jump, and Bayamo looking at something outside the ring 


I also had a youngster, Chaparone!


She was a amazing Casall Ask, Landgraf mare!

I got her when she was just broken in as a 4 year old and I had done everything with her!

Look how she jumped!


My future Grand Prix horse!

And not only could she jump, but she was perfect in the mouth, perfect mover, so sweet at the stable!


Just the perfect girls horse!

But she was young and still needed education.


After the attack, leading to me having diminished sight on my right eye, no feeling on the right side of the face, constant headache, addicted to Tramadol, plus difficulties with concentration, this all lead to me not being able to educate a young horse, and I could not ride my dear Chaparone anymore. 


The same with Bayamo, I was very unsure of myself, and Bayamo picked quickly up on that.

Bayamo showing clearly that he is not interested that I ride him anymore:


How could he trust me if I keep on making mistakes and was not even able to trust myself. 
So it was no other way, Francois send the both horses to Danmark for training, and I was never going to ride them again.

The day the two horses left


It was very hard for me, because I have put so much work in Chap, when I got her she would jump so far in to the combinations that she would land were she was suppose to take of for the next jump, and having no chance to jump the second jump, so she would run to the side.

Me and Chap had overcome her jumping to long in the combinations, and she was growing to be such a incredible horse!

Even Rolf Göran Bengtsson had comment on her, while I rode her, that she looked like a top horse in the making. 

But I understood for me not to destroy the horse it was better for her to be with somebody else.

Here are some videos of me and Chaparone, and me and Bayamo

Bayamo

To be continued    

6 thoughts on “Goodbye Chaparone and Bayamo”

  1. I love your blog ! What i love to see is that you really really really work hard not only on horses but also around them. Your story really proves so because you have build up your riding (which is amazing by the way , you are truly an amazing rider and i always study your riding videos so i can take something from them) and even through circumstances that some riders would just give up, you pushed on !! Keep writing these amazing blogs ❤ greetings from the Czech Republic . PS: fingers crossed for you so that you can meet Chaparone and Bayome one more time !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s hard to say goodbye to horse that you’ve put so much work in it.
    But probably you maked the right choice. And that makes you a smart rider! Nice that you hear updates from Chaperone😍
    Bayamo reminds of an Andiamo mare from my best friend…the mare has so much power and could jump 1.50 but she’s so spooky and sees everything 😉but in the stables she has a heart of gold. She probably have a foal next year. Lamm de Fètan would be a good combination with this mare.
    Keep up the good work Eva!👍🙌💕
    A fan from Belgium 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

